Tuesday, December 20, 2011

SENS TICKETS! The perfect stocking stuffer for YOU!

The holidays are upon us, and to me, that means spending time with family and friends. There is always so much going on during December that it's important to spend the days leading up to Christmas Day relaxing with loved ones.

Since it is almost a guarantee that we're going to have a green Christmas, there won't be any snowman building in the front yard, or walks to the neighbourhood skating rink to see the kids playing on the ice.

However, I'd like to offer you the next best thing!

How about a family four pass to the see the Ottawa take on Florida on December 22nd right here at Scotiabank place? Yup, you can watch the action on the ice and feel festive at the same time! GO SENS GO!

Not only do I have four tickets for this Thursday night's game, I also have four tickets to give away for the Metro Sens Skills night taking place on December 28th at 1 p.m.!

That's right, TWO winners, winning four tickets each to watch the Sens take to the ice!

As you may or may not know, the NHL All-Star skills competition will be taking place right here in Ottawa in January, and the Sens Skills night is basically a preview of what's to come. The Sens Skills competition is going to be so much fun the whole family!

And if you're a huge Sens fan, don't forget to vote for your favourite player so they can represent at the game in January! You can vote up to 30 times on each platform! Visit www.nhl.com/vote

Wouldn't four tickets to the Sens Skills night (presented by Metro) be a great stocking stuffer for that special someone in your life?

If you want to buy more tickets for yourself or for your friends, they're on sale for only $7.50 and you can get them at capitaltickets.ca. Oh, and there is free parking, too!

To win, just leave me a comment below... and I'll randomly pick two winners! The first name I pick will receive the tickets to the game on the 22nd, and the second name I pick will receive the tickets to the Sens Skills event!

Good Luck!

Snowman Cake!

I am not the best in the kitchen, this is a well-known fact. In fact, even baking sugar cookies can be quite the disaster, and that's not even when my children are helping me bake! I am, however, not as sucky when it comes to baking cake. My specialty? Carrot cake, with cream cheese icing. It's SO good and it's my go-to cake.

Over the holidays I wanted to impress my children and found this amazing cake that I knew my boys would simply adore—isn't this snowman cake the cutest thing you've ever seen? And you just know it's going to be super good to eat, too! I love the cake and I love coconut, and I think it looks so festive! The perfect dessert to bring to someone's house for a holiday party or gathering. A great way to impress your family members with your baking skills, too!

The best part? It's simply and easy to make! Yup, no sweating in the kitchen... even though it may look hard, it's really not. And for me to say that? Well, just take my word for it. Now I have another cake to add to my "things I can make that I don't suck at" list!

Now, if only it was Christmas ever day... then I'd have the perfect excuse to make this cake more than a couple of times a year!

Thursday, December 15, 2011

De'Longhi Coffee Machine Giveaway just in time for Christmas!

There is almost nothing I love as much as coffee. I can't survive, without coffee. To me, coffee is as important as water... maybe even more so?

Another great holiday gift idea to give to those people you love on your shopping list? A coffee maker. A really, really good coffee maker.

Well, you're in luck, and so close to Christmas too! I am giving away a front-drip coffee maker from De'Longhi—an amazing company whose products we always buy.

Wouldn't this be an awesome gift to give your mother-in-law? Hello, brownie points!

To enter just leave me a comment below telling me who the hardest person to shop for on your list is!

Good Luck!

I'll pick a winner randomly on December 16!

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Empire Theatre Holiday Gift Card Bundle: Making Holiday Shopping Easier For You!

With only a few days left before Christmas, I am starting to panic. I was calm, cool and collected up until a few days ago, thinking I had all the time in the world to finish Christmas shopping for everyone on my list. Suddenly, there are only 10 days left before the big day and well... I am not ready. Not. Even. Close.

I have been busy with work and my kids and balancing it all, and I still need gift ideas for those few people left on my list. (Hi, sister!) Last year I gave out some Empire Theatres Gift Cards and they were a huge hit. Really, how could you go wrong when giving someone a gift card to the movies? No matter how hard the people on your shopping list are to shop for, you cannot go wrong with a gift card for the movies!

Do you know what the best part is? It's a win-win situation for everyone. Because when you buy a $30 Empire Theatre Gift Card, you will receive $30 in Empire Theature coupons. These coupons are amazing! You'll receive two-for-one deals, great discounts on food and drinks, two dollars off any combo, $9.99 for an admission ticket, regular drink and small popcorn and so much more. Isn't that awesome? Total bonus!

My favourite part are the cute gift tins that are back this year, that can be used as a gift box. They're only a dollar plus tax, and net proceeds go to Kids Help Phone. (You can purchase these tins for other gifts, too, not just for the gift cards!)

Aren't you glad your holiday shopping got so much easier? Especially with only days left before Christmas? Well, happy shopping... and you're welcome!

I am participating in the Empire Theatre Gift Card Holiday Campaign by Mom Central Canada. I received compensation for my participation in this campaign. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Menu planning over the holidays with Chef Boyardee

Chef Boyardee

With only a few days left before Christmas, it's okay to start freaking out. Today I looked at my calendar at work and realized that we are less than two weeks away from the festivities!

I set off on my lunch hour in a mad dash to stamp and mail out all my Christmas cards, so at least that's checked off my mile long to-do list. ,

Yes, the holiday season is without a doubt, a crazy, busy time for all of us. Especially us moms, who on top of our everyday busy schedules have Christmas to deal with too! There is so much to prepare for the holidays: child care arrangements when the kids are off school for two (long) weeks, Christmas shopping, gift wrapping, house decorating, party attending, and of course, menu planning. With so much going on, I'm looking for the easieast (and healthiest!) ways to feed my family.

I found some great recipes on the UrbanMoms website that I know my boys will love. The best part? They're easy to prepare and they're great tasting. Right now, if you check out the UrbanMoms site to get some menu planning ideas from Chef Boyardee, you have the chance to win a $200 President's Choice gift card and tons of yummy Chef Boyardee products. How awesome is that?

You can even find more recipes on Chef Boyardee's Facebook page! I'm all about getting as much help as possible during these next few days before the festvities begin!

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Empire Theatres: Reel Babies!

As a mom who has been on maternity leave twice, I had to come up with creative things to do on a daily basis to entertain my babies and myself. Museum visits, play dates, crafty afternoons, trips to the mall, afternoons at the park, mornings in the pool... the list goes on and on. Sometimes, though, I just wanted to enjoy a medium popcorn and diet coke in the movie theatre while my baby was napping comfortably in his stroller. However, I knew it was probably not appropriate to bring my baby to the movies in case he annoyed the other patrons.

Now? Empire Theatres have come up with the ultimate outing for new parents: Empire Reel Babies! Twice a month, you can see a new release movie in a baby-friendly environment. The lights are dim, the volume is lowered, and you can sit back and watch your movie without worrying about bothering anyone else.

Bonus? Each Reel Babies theatre is equipped with a change table, bottle warmer, play mat, exersaucer and baby swing, so you can take care of all your babies needs without having to even step out of the theatre!

Are you interested in checking out Empire Reel Babies? Well, now you can!

I'm giving away tickets for you (and your baby!) along with coupons for $3.00 off general admission to a Reel Babies event.

All you have to do to win? Leave me a comment, telling me what movie you're currently dying to see, and I'll pick a winner randomly on December 10th!

Good Luck!

Disclosure: I am participating in the Empire Reel Babies program by Mom Central Canada on behalf of Empire Theatres. I received compensation as a thank you for my participation. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Three Steps to WOW!

It's almost Christmas! With only a few days left until December, we've been busy decorating the house, putting up the Christmas tree (with help from my two little helpers, my boys!) and getting a head start on Christmas shopping. (Don't be jealous, but I'm actually finished all the shopping for my children!)

Next on my to-do list? Holiday baking. I alread made one batch of sugar cookies from the new Betty Crocker cook book, and I was so impressed with how easy these cookies were to make - and okay, I was a little impressed with myself, too! I'm not the greater baker, so if I can actually follow a recipe through, I'm proud of myself. I also love how you can remove the page of the recipe you're working with from the book, and easily insert it back once you're done using it.

Anyway, Life Made Delicious is going to make holiday baking even more easy for me this year, with their Three Steps To Wow recipes! Who wouldn't love to receive these adorable, easy to make snowman cookies? Since they're easy to make, I plan on making as many as I can for co-workers, teachers, and friends.

Of course, holiday baking just wouldn't be the same without getting my children involved, too. Messy kitchens are so worth the fun we all have making new holiday traditions and memories. When my boys are older, they'll be able to say: "Remember those awesome cookies mom used to make?" And the best part? The recipes are so easy to follow, we'll be baking tons this holiday season!

Disclosure: I am part of the Life Made Delicious Blogger program and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Saturday, November 12, 2011

Holiday festivities!

I start getting excited for the holidays right after Halloween. Now that we're well into November, Christmas is right around the corner! And this gets me really, really excited. I've always loved the holidays, but more so now that I am a mom - seeing the joy in my children's faces on Christmas Day is something I will always cherish.

I love everything having to do with the holidays, from writing my shopping lists to decorating the house, and shopping until I can't shop anymore for everyone on my list - and I also love entertaining during this festive time. I'm no Martha Stewart in the kitchen, though, but I do love making things that everyone will love. As long as what I am making is simple, because I'm always so pressed for times, and I only do well with really simple recipes!

When I saw this Candy Cane Cake on the Life Made Delicious website, I knew it would be one cake I'd be bringing to my inlaws Christmas morning. A few times a year, I like to surprise them and show them that I can, indeed, make something on my own that actually tastes good! This cake? No exception, I'm sure. It is simple, looks great, and will be a big hit this holiday season!

Happy baking everyone!

Disclosure: I am part of the Life Made Delicious Blogger program and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Tag Along Toys and the Neighbourhood Toy Store Day!

Tag Along Toys, one of the cities most fabulous toy stores, is celebrating their first National Neighbourhood Toy Store Day this Saturday, November 12th! (Tag Along Toys is part of NETS - Neightbourhood Toy Stores of Canada, along with 50 other stores across Canada who work together to provide quality, safe, durable products to customers.)
Not only can you shop till you drop, but you'll also be supporting your local Independent Toy Stores!

Also? Tag Along Toys will be having giveaways, contests, treasure hunts and more!

The kids will have a blast and they'll even get to meet Elmo and Dora! I know my three year old son will be so excited (and probably a little shy, too!) to meet Dora live and in person.

Tag Along Toys will also be accepting donations to the Kanata Food Bank.
For more info you can go to Nets Canada.

My Kinder Moments

What do I love almost as much as my children? Chocolate! Well, okay, not quite, but chocolate—good quality chocolate—definitely makes the cut for things I most desire and love in this world, after, of course, my children.

Did you know that you can now celebrate the things you love with My Kinder Moments? Kinder Canada (as if they weren't awesome enough already!) has created a cool little tool through their Facebook page that helps you celebrate and frame the special moments in your life. And moms, I know there are plenty of special moments that need framing!

These frames are not only for celebrating milestone events but for everyday things, too. Like snapping that random awesome picture of your child on the school playground, bath time pictures (perfect for bribing in later years!) and the disasters your children make while they're 'playing'. Hey, why not cherish those moments, too? You can use My Kinder Moments Frames for... well, anything!

Head on over to the Kinder Canada Facebook page to register to create your Kinder Moments album. Here's a bonus: every time you frame a special moment, you'll be entered to win a prize every month—like a $500 digital camera to capture your special moments!

Disclosure: I’m part of the KINDER® Mom program and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Friday, November 4, 2011

Helping children save money

This post was underwritten by BMO Harris Bank, which offers a matching $25 on a new savings account opened for your child through their Helpful Steps for Parents program. Learn more at bmoharris.com/parents.

You probably know this already, but I have never had good money habits. I spend more than I make, and I'm terrible with saving money for a rainy day. Despite my bad money habits, as a mom of two little boys, I try to teach my children about fiscal responsibility.

Lucky for me, my six year old is a mini Alex P. Keaton.

He loves saving money, collects coins, and asked for a gold bar for his birthday last year. (Which he received, thanks to generous grandparents.) He has four piggy banks in his room: one for spending, one for saving, one sharing, and one for schooling. He loves saving up his money and when we give him money, he decides where to put it.

He's now saved up enough to buy his plane ticket for our annual winter vacation to south Florida! Although this thrills me to no end, I don't think I'm going to take his hard-earned money. He is on the right track with saving, and he's actually teaching me a thing or two! For his birthday last year, he received a little ATM machine for his room - it's amazing, it works, and it has helped encourage him to put away his money, too.

We love to teach our children abou the importance of saving. When we see our boys working hard to save, or when we see that they're keeping rather spending their money, we like to match the amount they have saved. Although I don't often lead by example when it comes to money and saving money, I do try very hard to teach my children how to save, and why it is important to save. It's great to see their enthusiasm when it comes to money - especially saving it!

I also love to see my children's enthusiasm when I take them to the bank to deposit their money. It makes them very proud, teaches them about being responsible, and makes me feel happy as a parent. Rather than my children thinking they're "entitled" to getting everything they want, just like that, I like knowng that they're using money they've saved to get things they want when we go shopping. If they want something, generally speaking, they'll pay for it themselves with their money - money they've saved.

I may not be the best when it comes to saving money myself, but I'm learning, slowly. My children teach me every day about the importance to saving for a rainy day, and for the future. It really is never too early to teach your children this important life lesson.

I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective. To learn more about BMO Harris Bank, visit their website http://bmoharris.com/parents/.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Two tickets to the advanced screening of Breaking Dawn for YOU!

A few years ago, I made fun of everyone who read and watched Twilight. I wouldn't give the movie, or the books, a second glance. I had better things to do with my time than swoon over a vampire. Seriously, I thought. Ew.

And then one night, as I was watching TV, I stumbled upon this movie. I couldn't look away, even after I realized it was Twilight.

Fast-forward a few hours. I was in Costco, purchasing the four books in the Twilight saga: Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn. For the next few days, I went into hiding. I went to work, but read the books during my breaks and lunch hour. I read during rush hour traffic. I read in the bathroom. I stayed up late into the night finishing book after book until a few days later, I was finished reading the entire saga. I loved all the books, and declared myself Team Edward forever. Of course I questioned my decion after Eclipse when I had a few Team Jacob, maybe? moments, and bought all the DVD's to watch at home, whenever the urge hit me.

I now get the obsession. Even though I'm a 35 year old mom. I also want to shake Bella and yell: "You're so lucky! Stop the sulking, b*tch!"

Anyway, last year, Boston Pizza invited me to attend the advanced screening of New Moon, and this year, I'm happily joining them again for the advanced screening of Breaking Dawn. (Squee!)

I also have two tickets to give away to one of you lucky Twi-hards, too! All you have to do is "Like" Boston Pizza on Facebook for your chance to win! Leave me a comment below telling me you did, and you're entered—simple as that! I will pick a winner on November 7th, randomly.

The advanced screening takes place on November 17th. So you'll be seeing the most anticipated movie of the year (it totally is, don't laugh) before your other friends! Bragging rights on Facebook? I think so!

Hey, your other friends still have a chance to win, too. All they have to do is go to Boston Pizza Orleans, spend $20, and receive a ballot to be entered to win. So maybe they'll be able to join you as well!

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Breaking News: Coca-Cola turns white!

When I think of Coca-Cola commercials during the holidays, I always think of that big, white, adorable polar bear. Don't you? For decades, the big white bear has appeared in holidays ads with Coke. Well this year, Coca-Cola is teaming up with the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) to help Canada's beloved white polar bears.

This holiday season, white is the new red. That's right. Forget what you've heard about wearing white after labour day—this year, not only is it cool to be seen in white, it's also worthwhile. That's because Coca-Cola will be changing the colour of its classic red can for a great cause, in honour of the white polar bear.

The Arctic Home campaign helps raise awareness and funds to support the WWF and its efforts to protect the polar bear's Arctic habitat. Did you know that two-thirds of the world's polar bears live in Canada? This white bear is a very important part of our ecosystem and culture.

Coca-Cola will donate $2 million dollars to the WWF over the next five years, and through the Arctic Home campaign, they'll match consumer donations made by March 12, 2012, up to $1 million dollars! Isn't that something to drink to?

Just visit iCoke.ca to make your donation. It really is as simple as that. Funds go towards the WWF's conservation efforts to protect polar bear habitats, for their survivial today and in the future.

You can also use the hashtag #ArcticHome on Twitter to find out more!

"This campaign is about working together to save one of the most important places on Earth," says Gerald Butts, President and CEO of the WWF. "As sea ice continues to melt at alarming rates, polar bears and local communities alike are threatened. With Coca-Cola's support, we can expand our reach and impact to help chart a sustainable future for this critical Arctic ecosystem."

When you're iCoke.ca, you can explore, experience and learn all about the polar bear and its Arctic home, watch videos, track virrtual polar bear sightings, and make your donation.

Coca-Cola Ltd.

Disclosure: I have received paid compensation to be part of this campaign through Urban Moms.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Pirate fun

Last year, my six year old wanted to have a pirate themed birthday party. I decided to go all out with his birthday cake and ordered a great treasure chest cake from our cake lady. It was a huge hit, and it tasted amazing, as well. We played a few games, ate a lot of great food, and even enjoyed an afternoon of swimming. It was a great day, and a great birthday.

I recently stumbled upon these amazing cupcakes, though, and I know they would have also been a huge hit at my son's pirate themed birthday party! Don't they look amazing? AND of course, they're easy to make. Not only that, but image the fun the children would have decorating these cupcakes? A great activity for kids to do at a party, no? Hopefully my little one will ask for a pirate themed party in the coming years so we can make these yummy cupcakes, too!

Disclosure: I am part of the Life Made Delicious Blogger program and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

A family four pass to see the OTTAWA SENATORS!

A few weeks ago, we had the opportunity to take our children to their very first NHL game. It was all sorts of exciting, for me, and for the boys, who were completely blown away by the game, the skating rink, and all the excitement. We didn't last the entire game, but while we were there, we had a blast! My children were even given the chance to ride on the zamboni, during the game, but they said no. They were a bit too shy, but hopefully next time they'll experience that!

Since it is the 20th anniversary of The Ottawa Senators, celebrations of all sorts are taking place for ALL Sens fans, big and small!

It's Kids Opening Night on Saturday, October 22nd, at 7 p.m. at Scotiabank Place, and there will be so many fun things going on, including balloon artists, special mascots, and more!

The best part? I AM GIVING AWAY A FAMILY FOUR PACK to see the Sens this Saturday night!

4 tickets, 4 hot dogs, and 4 drinks, can be yours... all you have to do is tell me what colour the Sens' jerseys are!

I'll pick a winner by midnight on October 22nd!

Contest is open to anyone who is in or around Ottawa. Or, anywhere, really, as long as they can be at Scotiabank Place on Saturday at 7 p.m. to pick up their tickets! (The winner can pick up their tickets at Concierge Gate #2 before the game!)

Good Luck! And? GO SENS GO!

Sunday, October 9, 2011

Cookies like grandma used to make

One of my favourite parts of childhood was coming home from school, relaxing on the couch in front of the TV, and eating a snack. The best snacks were always cookies with milk. Don't you agree? I always loved it when my grandmother baked fresh cookies for us to enjoy after school, when it was our time to relax before dinner and after school activities. Things were always so busy, but always fun. Having a comfort food to enjoy was a really great way to unwind before we had to go-go-go again.

I happen to love Oatmeal Rasin cookies, even though normally, I wouldn't touch a rasin with a ten foot pole! Luckily for me, my children also love these cookies, and they are now a new favourite snack our house! Not only are they oh-so-good, but they're healthy, too. And they're a great way to get your children to eat raisins, too. After all, who can resist a cookie, right?

Disclosure: I am part of the Life Made Delicious Blogger program and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Pink Network

October is breast cancer awareness month, and last year, I had quite a scare. I couldn't have gotten through my experience of waiting for a mammagram and breast ultrasound without my family and best friends with me, comforting me and offering me support.

Since October is all about breast cancer awareness, I love seeing how companies are doing their part to raise awareness and support women and men who have this disease. Seeing all the pink in October is an awesome thing, don't you think? It means we're all united, and we're all rallying together against this terrible disease.

Even though I'm an iPhone lover, I appreciate that TELUS is donating money in a worthwhile way. In May 2010, TELUS announced that for every TELUS pink Blackberry Curve sold in October, $25 would go towards to the purchase of digital mammography machines.

TELUS created a social media campaign using Facebook to drive fundraising for the cause. The Go Pink Facebook application invited people to turn their profile pictures pink, which in return generated $200,000 towards the campaign and new, much needed, machines.

By choosing to buy your Pink Blackberry from TELUS, you've helped raise over $2.45 million nationally.

Your support enabled ten Go Pink charities to purchase much needed digital mammography machines. Breast cancer touches us all and this campaign reminds us that together, we can give where we live and make real improvements to health care in our local communities.

Since 2008, TELUS has given over $15 million for research, early detection and treatment of cancer in Canada. Isn't that something awesome?

Disclosure: By working with TELUS on this worthwhile campaign, I have a chance of winning a trip to Niagara-on-the-Lake. The person who receives the most RT's on Twitter using the hashtag #pinknetwork will win the trip.

Monday, September 26, 2011

Easy dinner solutions thanks to Life Made Delicious

Now that fall is here, and our children are back in school (I know, you were as excited as I was, right?) I need easy dinner solutions that won't drive me crazy or have me looking for 50 different ingredients to prepare a meal my children will likely eat in under 10 minutes flat. (I've got some hungry little guys, you know!)

I love checking out all the easy dinner recipes at Life Made Delicious. There really is always something there I want to try, but the part I love the most? Knowing the recipes are simple, and knowing that when I make something from the site my children will EAT the food I've put in front of them!

Often I will back away from a recipe if it calls for too many indredients or if takes longer than an hour to make, and I have found that the recipes at Life Made Delicious are all pretty easy to make!

Disclosure: I am part of the Life Made Delicious Blogger program and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Monday, August 29, 2011

Easy pasta dishes your children will LOVE!

As part of the Life Made Delicious blogger program with Mom Central Canada, I am always online looking for easy recipes I know my children will love. My children can sometimes be fussy about what they eat, so I make sure what I'm making for them is not only healthy, but something I know they won't complain about. That something is usually pasta.

A dish I love—and a dish that is packed with yumminess—is the Linguine with Vegetables and Cheese. There is nothing not to love about this dish, and it includes some healthy veggies, too! And cheese—lots of cheese makes everything better, especially if you're one of my children. They can't get enough of cheese!

Another dish I love making them is the Spinich Lasagna Casserole. It's really easy to make—even if you're making it for the first time, and you're like me—not so great in the kitchen! Since school is almost in session again (my oldest son starts grade one very soon!) I need to have simple ingredients in the house for easy to make dinner solutions.

This week, I'm going to try the Southwest Mac and Cheese—pasta and cheese together? Already a hit in my house!

Disclosure: I am part of the Life Made Delicious Blogger program and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Monday, August 22, 2011

Complete Skin Care

As a shopaholic, I love shopping for cosmetics - both in stores and on-line. I love finding the perfect shade of lipstick, the best eye make-up remover, and face creams that smells as good as they work.

I recently discovered Complete Skin Care, which is basically the only website you need to go to in order to find all your favourite brands in one place - for fabulous prices!

With over 1,700 different products, Complete Skin Care offers discounts up to 30% off on skin care products such as Obagi, Skinceuticals, Kinerase, Dermalogica, La Roche Posay and more. Isn't that just fabulous?

Check out Complete Skin Care's facebook page, which makes shopping easy and fun! All you have to do is enter the product you are looking for, what you're looking for, and voila - your item appears! Shopping on facebook? Sign me up!

Complete Skin Care also offers combo packs that will give you fabulous looking skin!

New brands are added to the site all the time like: Fake Bake, Perricone MD, Peter Thomas Roth, Philosophy, Avene, GloMinerals, Go Smile, Decleor and Tweezerman - the best tweezers around!

Now the question is... what are you waiting for? Check out Complete Skin Care's facebook page and happy shopping!

Disclaimer: I was compensated for this post.

Thursday, June 30, 2011

Happy Canada Day...

I can't believe it's July tomorrow. With the beginning of a new month, we find ourselves in the midst of summer already.

It's time to celebrate summer this long weekend, and enjoy Canada Day with our friends and family. Of course, no Canada Day celebration is complete without something tasty to eat, right? And why celebrate the occasion with something... truly Canadian?

Like... butter tarts!

These tasty treats can be made from the comfort of your own kitchen. All you need is some Pillsbury pie crust (see, right there, you're saving yourself a step!) some raisins, butter (duh!) brown sugar, golden corn syrup, vanilla and 1 egg.

Follow the recipe and you've got a tasty treat to share with your guests... make sure to save at least a couple for yourself, though!Look forward to seeing your posts before

Happy Canada Day, and Happy 4th of July to my American friends!

Disclosure: I am part of the Life Made Delicious Blogger program and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Monday, June 27, 2011

Disney Fruit Shapes and Cars 2 movie passes giveaway!

Ka-chow, everybody! Are you children super excited yet? Cars 2 has finally hit the theatres! It's been a few years since we've last seen Lighting McQueen on the big screen, but now, we don't have to wait any longer.

And! Super exciting news—I have a special Cars 2 and Disney Fruit Shapes giveaway just for you and your little ones!

So, what do you win? You'll recieve some super yummy Disney Fruit Shapes, and a $50 Visa Cash Card towads a Family Movie Pass to see Cars 2 in theatres.

All you have to do to win? Leave me a comment below telling me who your (or your child's) favourite Cars character is.

I'll randomly pick a winner on July 26.

Contests open to Canadians residents only. Readers may enter the contest on multiple blogs but are only eligible to win one Cars 2 prize as part of the contest.

Disclosure: I am part of the Life Made Delicious Connector program and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Friday, June 17, 2011

Cold Stone Creamery ice cream cake!

Recently I found out that Cold Stone Creamery is coming to my very own city! This is exciting news and as everyone LOVES ice cream from Cold Stone Creamery... right?

I was approached to try the new Peanut Butter Playground ice cream cake, just in time for Father's Day. Sadly, there is no Tim Hortons with a Cold Stome Creamery in it just yet, so instead, I'll have to wait to try this amazing treat.

The Peanut Butter Playground ice cream cake is available in 6' and 8' sizes, and is made up of layers of Devil's Food cake, smooth chocolate ice cream, chopped Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, chocolate ganache, peanut butter and chocolate shavings—a treat no dad could resist!

Since Father's Day is a great time to spend the day kicking back and relaxing with the entire family, what better way to do it than with this yummy ice cream cake? I know if I could get my hands on it, it's what my husband would be enjoying this Sunday, June 19th!

For more information on Cold Stone Creamery locations in Canada, click here.

Disclaimer: I was compensated for this post.

Thursday, June 9, 2011

You've Got Mail! (Part Two!)

The first thing I check every morning when I wake up is Twitter. After that, the first thing I do is check my email!

I love receiving emails from friends, or good news emails from work or blogging related projects. I love it when emails put a smile on the face, and at least a few times a day, they do. Emails from best friends, emails from long-lost friends, and emails from loved ones are all so special to receive.

My favourite emails are the once I get from my mom when she babysits my children while I am at work. They're my most favourite, and will be saved forever:

Dimitry drank all his milk, and fell asleep at 1. Christos rested for 1/2 hour, drank his milk, went on the computer, had some apple and apple juice and just went to Home Depot with dad. The kids are great. We'll eat fish and mashed potatoes tonight.
See you soon!!!!!


Christos was painting and we're both covered in paint now. Dimitry fell asleep at 2:15 in his crib - I just left him there and only went in a couple of times and he fell asleep! He had fun at playgroup. Christos had a great day and is eating McDonald's now.
See you soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Christos was outside shovelling for over 1/2 hour, jumping around in the snow. He had hot chocolate and macaroni and kima. He's great. Don't call for a while, Dimitry is sleeping.
See you soon!!!


Just back from Greek playgroup. Baby kept going up and down... his nose is stuffy, I think he is getting a new cold.
Christos had to poo at school but it was quick.
I am exhausted....
See you soon!


Put the humidifer on for Christos.
Get the address for Florida.
Thank S. for gift for Dimitry.
Look for new housekeeper for your house - this is important!
See you soon!!!!!!


The boys are a handful! Especially Dimitry... he wears everyone out! Christos is riding his bicycle inside. Dimitry sleeping since 1:15. It is now 2:00. See you soon.

Dimitry hit one cheek on the wall at playgroup and so one cheek is red. He had a blast at my moms house for almost 2 hours, running, playing, eating.
Christos is great, but this morning, after you left for work, he got upset because Dimitry took his gems and crystals and threw one on the floor, then Dimitry hit Christos and Christos hit him back and then Christos took off his pants and underwear and I finally got them dressed again but Christos was late for school. It was tough....
See you soon!!!!


Emails about my children—and especially emails about my children that make me laugh hard at work—are always emails I look forward to receiving!

(This is part two in a Yahoo! Mail sponsored post about staying connected. The first email blog post can be found here.)

Thank you to Yahoo! Mail for sponsoring this post about staying connected. I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Beddington's: Ottawa finest bedding store!

A few months ago, after my apperance on A Morning talking about blogging, I was contacted by a local bedding company, Beddington's.

Beddington's is one of Ottawa finest bedding stores and every location in Canada sells amazing bedding sets, duvet covers, bed sheets, and so much more. Beddington's has a few stores in Ottawa, and in Toronto, as well. A new location is opening up in Kingston, too. My family is mostly familiar with the south end location, and my family has been shopping there for years!

I was given this amazing 100% silk duvet for a review, and it's so amazing, some days I don't even want to get out of bed! Beddington's has TONS of amazing duvet covers for you to choose from—there really is something here for everyone, no matter what your taste. All I know is, I had the hardest time deciding on which duvet cover to get for myself!

Do yourself a favour—if you're in the market for new bed sheets, a new duvet cover, or a brand-new duvet? Check out Beddington's. You have my word that you will find exactly what you're looking for!

Friday, May 20, 2011

$50 for YOU!

Now that the nicer weather has finally arrived (let's not talk about all the rain we've been having, okay?) it's time to do some spring cleaning—in your closet!

That's right. You need to put aside a few hours to organize your clothes, and bring out all those pretty summer dresses again. Also, make some room, because you're going shopping!

I'm giving away a $50 Mark's Gift Certificate, just for YOU! Last year, Mark's (formerly Mark's Work Warehouse) smartened up many of its stores and introduced a refreshed brand with new clothes and shoes in styles everyone could fall in love with. (Even me!)

I was invited (along with other members of the media and bloggers) to Mark's last year and I was treated to a Marks-over—make-up and hair people were on hand to pamper us and we got to pick out a brand new outfit to wear for a professional photo shoot.

I had a blast, and was completely surprised that I actually loved my outfit—skinny jeans, sparkly top, sweater, and awesome boots. I even got to keep the entire outfit!

Mark's is also having an awesome reStyle contest righ tnow, too, and you can win $5,000 in prizes—check it out!

Now it's time for you to discover Mark's! If you want to go shopping at Mark's, just leave me a comment below!

Bonus entry: Like Mark's on facebook!

Contest open to Canadians only.

Good Luck, everyone. I'll pick a winner randomly on May 25th!

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Easy recipes for YOU!

As a Life Made Delicious Connector, I have access to dozens of amazing and easy recipes all the time.

There really is no excuse for why I'm not spending more time in the kitchen! Now that summer is just around the corner, I'm looking forward to trying out a few new things this weekend.

Things that are easy enough for even ME to make!

Like this super yummy fruit trifle - a perfect desert for the entire family, and really, how could I do this wrong, right?

Another recipe I'm going to try? The Crispy Chicken Caesar Salad.

My boys love eating salad, and my oldest son LOVES caesar salads! I'm going to get him to help out in the kitchen, too.

Another easy recipe I'm dying to try? The Barbecued Pork Tenderloin... doesn't this just look so yummy?

I'm constantly amazed by all the great new recipes I find on Life Made Delicious. If you're looking for a great website to find tons of awesome recipes, now you know where to go!

You're welcome!

Disclosure: I am part of the Life Made Delicious Blogger program and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Iron Kids giveaway!

My kids eat well. They are never hungry, and they know their way around the kitchen better than I do. I do sometimes fear that they are not consuming as many fruits and vegetables as they should each day, so I am comforted in knowing that they love taking their Iron Kids Gummies vitamins.

I first tried Iron Kids vitamins at BlissDom Canada last fall, and I actually ate a handful at a time. They're THAT good. They taste even better than Gummy Bears! Not only do I love them, my children go crazy for these vitamins! When we run out, they get sad. So we rush out to buy more. It's hard keeping the bottle away from them, and they usually take two a day.

This makes me feel great, because I know how healthy they are for their little bodies. And I can feel a little less guilty about what they ate that day.

I'm so excited to announce that I have an awesome Iron Kids Gummies giveaway happening right now!

The prize is a 1 bottle each of Omega, Multi, Vitamin D and Calcium Gummies (for a winner in Canada!) and 2 bottles of Multi and 2 bottles of Omega Vitamin Gummies (for a winner in the USA!)

These vitamins are all natural, and contain no artificial sweeteners, flavors or colors. They're Health Canada approved, and made in Canada.

To win: Leave me a comment below telling me that you liked Iron Kids on Facebook!

Bonus entry: Sign up for the Iron Kids eNewsletter here!

Bonus entry number two: Tweet about this giveaway (I'm entering to win a prize pack of Iron Kids Gummies from @MrsLoulou and @KidsGummyMum!)

Good Luck everyone! I'll pick two winners randomly (one Canadian, one American) on Friday April 29th.

Monday, April 18, 2011

Easter Rice Krispies Giveaway!

Lately I've been spending more and more time in the kitchen, trying to improve my cooking and baking skills. I'm always up for a challenge, and I love easy recipes.

Making Rice Krispies Squares with my children makes me feel good about myself becaues there is almost no way I can screw it up, and the best part is, my children LOVE these treats!

Well, since Easter is upon us, I thought it would be a great time to have a fun Easter Rice Krispies giveaway! How would you like to win a super fun Gift Basket from Rice Krispies, valued at $100?

The basket includes:

- A copy of Rice Krispies Chocolate Bunnies Recipe
- A full size box of Rice Krispies Original Cereal
- Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
- A bag of marshmallows
- Royal Icing and Food Colouring
- Baking Pan
- Spatula
- Cookie Cutters
- Decorate Candy
- Seasonal Serving Dish

Just leave a comment below letting me know what you love baking with your kids, and you'll be entered to win this gift basket. I'll pick a winner randomly on Thursday, April 21st! (Sorry, open to Canadian residents only!)

Happy Easter, and happy eating!

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Green Works Giveaway!

As a mom, I try to keep my children safe and healthy. Of course, the products we use everyday in our home can affect our overall health, so I am more careful about what I use now.

A while back, I discovered Green Works all-natural cleaning products for the home, and I've been using these products ever since!

Greek Works products contain no harsh chemical fumes or residue, and are plant and mineral based, which help you create a clean, healthy home.

The smell is fresh and light and reminds me of a summer day.

I was given some products from Green Works recently, and included in my package were new products I was not yet using—Green Works dishwashing liquid soap and their new laundry detergent. I'm pleased to report I've been really happy with the results!

Green Works is also giving away three packages to three of my lucky readers, too!

To enter to win a fabulous package of Green Works products, just leave me a comment telling me what your green cleaning tips are!

For more information on and coupons for Green Works, visit their website.

Contest is open to Canadian residents only. I'll pick a winner randomly on April 22!

Good Luck!

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Ottawa Fashion Week!

I've been blogging for over four years, writing about everything from parenting to entertainment, so you must have figured out a few things about me by now.

Like the fact that I love my children more than anything in the world.

And the fact that I love summer and the ocean and swimming.

And the fact that I have am a huge shopaholic and get a high from trying on new dresses and buying new designer handbags and sunglasses.

Did I mention shopping and fashion and clothes and designer purses and sunglasses and shoes and department stores? Yes, I'm obsessed with everything fashion related.

And although Ottawa is not really comparable to New York City, we have a fashion week, too!

I'm been invited to attend and cover Ottawa Fashion Week, and I'm very excited to be taking part in all the glamour and fun.

Guess what? I have two day passs (for March 19th) to give away to two of my lucky readers! AND an extra pass to the invitation-only media launch party taking place on Thursday night!

I'm looking forward to attending the OFW launch party, which will be taking place in the newly renovated lounge, Lobby. The fashionable and sophisticated space will provide the fabulous backdrop to the ultimate fĂȘte of fashion here in Ottawa, with Cirque du Soleil like performers, champagne waterfalls, and hors d'oeuvres. Whether at the launch party, or at the actual event taking place at the National Gallery of Canada, you'll be rubbing elbows with foreign delegates, politicians, and socialites.

Ottawa Fashion Week is the most fashionable event in the city and you definitely don't want to miss out on the excitement.

Just leave me a comment below telling me where you love to shop and I will pick three names randomly tomorrow!

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Mars Needs Moms Movie Giveaway!

Moms... can't live with them, can't live without them.

Turns out moms are not only much loved and needed here on earth, but on... Mars as well!

Mars Needs Mars is Disney's latest Digital 3D and IMAX 3D movie, produced by the same folks who brought us Disneys' A Christmas Carol and The Polar Express. Mars Needs Moms will take the entire family on a wild adventure through Mars!

Nine year old Milo finds out just how much he needs his mom when she's taken by Martians who want her 'mom-ness' for their own unruly children. (Can I borrow her, too?) He goes on a wild journey ride on a spaceship in his quest to save his mom... on Mars!

I am giving away a family four pass to Mars Needs Moms to one of my lucky readers!

The Mars Needs Moms premier takes place this Saturday March 5th at 10 am at SilverCity Gloucester!

If you're in the Ottawa area, just leave me a comment for a chance to win the family four pass.

Good Luck - I'll pick a winner randomly on Thursday, March 3rd!

Thursday, February 17, 2011

M&M's Spokescandies Discover Canada!

“This is my first big trip across Canada. I’m excited, but anxious—what if I forgot to pack something important? And I hear that Canadians REALLY love their M&M’s, so maybe preparing for the cold should be the least of my worries! *Gulp*”

Orange, M&M’s Spokescandy

Imagine my surprise when I found out that the M&M's Spokescandies were coming to Canada! They're going to be on my own home turf! It's time to roll out the red carpet for our tasty friends, don't you think?

The famous M&M's Spokescandies will be visiting all the cool places in Canada, from famous landmarks to hidden gems off the beaten path. Of course, what's a visit to this fine country without checking out a hockey game, right? Maybe they'll even enjoy some time on the world's longest skating rink, too!

Our M&M's Spokescandies need YOUR help, though!

They want to discover the very BEST of Canada, and you can help by telling them where to go, simply by tweeting your recommendations to @MMSCanada and using the hashtag #CanadasBest.

You can also leave your suggestions on their facebook page!

Of course, I also have a great M&M's package up for grabs for you!

One of you lucky chocolate lovers will win $70 worth of M&M's—in a variety of sizes and delicious flavours!

You'll also receive some rare M&M's swag and the hiliarous book by the Ferguson brothers called How To Be A Canadian. (Even If You Already Are One).

All you have to do to win this yummy package?

Leave me a comment below telling me that you're following @MMSCanada on Twitter.

Bonus entry: "Like" the MMS Canada Facebook page!

Good Luck! Let's show these M&M's a good time, eh?

Contest open to Canadian residents only. I'll pick a winner randomly on March 1st.

Disclaimer: I was compensated in M&M's. Oh yes I was!

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Playtex Giveaway!

Are you still looking for the perfect sippy cup for your child? Then I have a giveaway just for you!

I remember the days when my children started to drink from a sippy cup, and how hard a task it was to find just the right kind of cup for them—one that was spill-proof, looked good, and was easy for my little children to drink from.

Well, Playtex has come out with the new Infant Lil'Gripper cup—it's perfect!

It's the first Playtex trainer cup that combines a squeezable body with a straw and it's spill-proof and leak-proof guaranteed! The straw cup is contoured so your child can hold tight and control the sipping. The cup also has a squeezable body that helps your child learn how to use a straw. These news cups are designed for babies as young as four months old, too.

The Playtex Lil’ Gripper cup is available in purple, green, blue and pink and the Twist 'n Click technology is spill-proof, leak-proof and break-proof. The cups are also dishwasher safe, and BPA and Phthalate free.

You Playtex package contains:

Playtex First Sipster Trainer Cup
Playtex Drop-Ins Original Nurser
Playtex Ortho-Pro pacifier
Playtex Ortho-Pro pacifier with sterilizing cover
Playtex Binky Silicone pacifier

Just leave me a comment below and you'll be entered to win this fabulous package! Good Luck!

I'll pick a winner randomly on February 28th, 2011.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Doritos: The End is Coming!

Updated: Thanks for entering, everyone! The lucky winner? Number 17! Karen, please email me your address and I'll have your package shipped to you right away! Enjoy!

What's your favourite snack food? For me, hands down, it's Doritos. Of course, classic Nacho cheese flavour is my number one choice, followed by Zesty Doritos—yummy!
Of course, Doritos is always coming out with new and creative flavours.

Did you know that Doritos just launched a new Canadian campaign? It's totally innovative and like nothing they've ever done before! The new campaign just launched during the Super Bowl.

Basically, Doritos has come out with two new awesome flavours—Onion Rings and Ketchup and Buffalo Wings and Ranch—and you, the consumer, gets to decide which one gets to live!

Two flavours. And only one survivor. One flavour must be destroyed forever!

How does this contest work?

You have to write the last 20 seconds of this commercial. For full contest details, check out this link!

If your ending is chosen, you will win—BIG. Not only will Doritos shoot your ending, they'll give you $25,000 and 1% of future sales from the flavour remaining on store shelves.

And don't worry if your ending doesn't get chosen—you can still win big, right here!

Doritos Canada is giving away a $150 Doritos prize package to one of my lucky readers!

All you have to do to win?

Leave me a comment below telling me what your favourite Doritos flavour is!

Bonus entries:

Follow me on Twitter!

Become a follower of Loulou's Views and Loulou's Reviews!

Follow Doritos Canada on Facebook!

Leave me a separate comment for each bonus entry.

That's all!

Contest ends Saturday, February 12th and is only open to Canadians.

Good luck and happy snacking!

May the best flavour win!

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Cheerios $50 Prize Pack - just for you!

Do you remember the days when your little one ate Cheerios like there was no tomorrow? Perhaps you have a baby who is currently Cheerios obsessed! When my two boys were young, they loved eating Cheerios as a snack, and I would put a whole bunch of Cheerios on their high chair tray and they'd eat them all up while I finished my housework. A healthy snack while I got to finish my work, a perfection combination! Now, of course, they enjoy eating Cheerios with milk for breakfast, as do I.

Before the days of Cheerios, and before Twitter, I would spend countless hours on Baby Center. I fell in love with this website the day I found out I was pregnant, and have used it as a resource ever since.

I used to read weekly updates about my pregnancy, and continued to read updates for the first year after my children were born. Baby Center always has the answers I'm looking for with regards to anything baby or child related, including information about feeding your child, developmental milestones, and fun activities for children to partake in. Baby Center is a trusted resource for me, and for new moms everywhere.

Did you know that there is a brand-new section on Baby Center?

Mom Central is excited to announce a new section on Baby Center brought to you by Cheerios!

It is called The Cheerios First Foods section and features expert information on how and when to introduce certain foods, tips for picky eaters, (haven't we all had to deal with picky eaters?) answers to common 'first foods' questions and more. The section also features First Foods tools, like menu plans, that can help make life easier for busy moms.

That's not all! How would you like to win a Cheerios prize pack valued at $50?

Just leave a comment telling me about what you like best about the Cheerios First Food section.

Your prize pack includes a Cheerios on-the-go tot container, a Cheerios playbook, a box of Cheerios, a bowl and utensil set and a $30 cash card.

Contest ends on February 14th!

Disclosure: I participated in the Cheerios First Foods program by Mom Central on behalf of General Mills. I received a gift card as a thank you for my participation. The opinions on this blog are my own.